History of the Theatre

The Assembly Theatre was built in 1934 by mill owner and philanthropist Austin T. Levy. Mr. Levy and his wife, June Rockwell Levy donated the Assembly to the Town of Burrillville in order for the residents to enjoy performing artists and theater. The Board of Administration was created by Mr. Levy in 1934 to oversee the Assembly Theatre and the Board continues to manage and maintain this beautiful historic theater to this day.

The theater is found in historic Burrillville, Rhode Island.  The theater hosts concerts of various kinds, theater productions of the highest quality and events of various kinds throughout the year.  

It was build for the purpose of bringing art and theater to Burrillville, we are opening the doors to become the next premiere venue for all events in Southern New England.

Do not miss the opportunity to come out and enjoy a show at the wonderfully beautiful ASSEMBLY THEATER. 

Mission Statement

The Patrons of the Assembly Theatre (POA) believe that the Assembly Theatre presently serves to enrich our community and will continue to do so for future generations while preserving its unique history.  We strive to ensure steady growth of community volunteerism and cultivate Burrillville’s artistic culture by providing quality programming and events year-round. 

Staff & Board


The Patrons of the Assembly Theatre, a 501(c)3 non-profit corporation promotes the historic preservation and restoration of the Assembly Theatre for the benefit, education, use of enjoyment of the public. We strive to foster, promote, and increase public knowledge of the arts and cultural activities in Burrillville provided by the Assembly Theatre.

Patrons of the Assembly Theatre Board of Directors

EXECUTIVE CHAIR / Holly Dumaine Picard
VICE CHAIR / Paul Juneau
SECRETARY / Deirdre Simpkins
TREASURER / Thomas Tatro 
BOARD MEMBERS / Danielle Medeiros, Chris Simpkins, Aimee Juneau, Mike Konnerth 


The Board of Administration was established in 1934 by mill owner and philanthropist Austin T. Levy to manage and maintain the buildings which he so generously donated to the Town of Burrillville.  The Town Hall, Carlton Brown Building (Town Hall Annex), Legion Hall and the Assembly Theatre are all maintained by the Board of Administration.

Board Members

CHAIRMAN / John F. Pacheco, III 
MEMBER / Justin Batalon
MEMBER / Amanda Gingell
MEMBER / Donald A. Fox
MEMBER / Barbara Langlois